Sunday, February 5, 2012

6. The Iron Knight

6. The Iron Knight

Book #6: The Iron Knight
Author: Julie Kagawa
Published: October 26, 2011
361 pages
5 Gold Stars

(summary from Goodreads)

Ash, former prince of the Winter Court, gave up everything. His title, his home, even his vow of loyalty. All for a girl… and all for nothing.

Unless he can earn a soul.

To cold, emotionless faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing any gentler feelings the Winter prince might have had. Or so he thought.

Then Meghan Chase—a half human, half fey slip of a girl— smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer fey can survive.

With the (unwelcome) company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through to its end— a quest to find a way to honor his solemn vow to stand by Meghan’s side.

To survive in the Iron realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. At least, no one has ever passed to tell the tale.

And then Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that turns reality upside down, challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the ultimate sacrifice.

And any problems I had with the first books diminish into thin air. Ash the perfect hero for a book. He is vulnerable, brave, and willing to do anything to be with the girl he loves. Who doesn't want a guy like that in their life?

Ash is a fey, a soulless immortal who falls for a half human girl. Meghan, daughter of the Summer King and Ash's true love, is now the ruler of the Iron Realm, a place normal fey cannot enter without growing ill. In order for Ash to be with Meghan, he must earn a soul and become human. His mission is not an easy one. With loveable Puck beside him, he ventures towards The End Of The World, where no one has ever come out alive. A few unexpected characters join them on this journey, and they turn up the tension and test Ash's love for Meghan. There is action from the beginning sentence to the very last.

This stands out from the other Iron Fey books because it is from Ash's point of view. We get to see the many layers of him unfold throughout the pages and we get a better understanding about him as a character from the previous books. We find out why he is cold and hides his emotions. We find out what truly happened in his past to make him the way he is now. His trials tug at your heartstrings and you root for him until the end. I would be lying if I said tears did not come to my eyes. Kagawa describes mortality in a why that makes you think about your own life and perhaps changing things that you do now. She reminds us that we don't have much time to make things right and to always speak the truth and help out others.

Friendships are tested. Relationships are severed and as always Grimalkin simply helps out and leaves like none of it matters to him. This was the prefect ending to this series and is still with me after weeks of reading it. I can only hope someone would go to the end of the world for my love.

"My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts